Kvitova exits WTA Champs, Stosur in as replacement

 

Petra Kvitova this morning announced her withdrawal from the WTA Championships due to illness, just hours after a disparaging display in her opening match.

Kvitova, heading into the tournament as defending champion, fell 6-3 6-2 to Agnieszka Radwanska in her first match of the round-robin stage yesterday and blamed nerves for her loss.

Yet it appears a viral illness was the cause of her shakes on Tuesday afternoon and Kvitova’s decision to pull out of the tournament means replacement Sam Stosur gets the chance to play in Istanbul.

“Yesterday when I played I thought that it’s nerves, but normally nerves are gone after first set,” Kvitova said earlier today. “I was shaking all match and I wasn’t feeling very well. My stomach felt really funny.

“After one rally with Agnieszka I couldn’t breathe, so that’s why maybe it looks so easy and I had a lot of errors then. After that I felt still the stomach not really well. I had the diarrhoea yesterday also in the morning.

“I never withdraw from a tournament. This first time for me, so I don’t really experience this kind of press conferences. I don’t like to give up, so I’m feeling really disappointed. I hope that Sam will win some matches for me.”

Indeed, Stosur comes into the tournament with nothing to lose and will face Maria Sharapova and Sara Errani for a place in the semi finals. With one loss to her name already, the Australian will no doubt pull out all the stops in effort to reach the semis of a competition she has made the past two seasons.

As for Kvitova, her season is now over bar captaining her national Czech side in the Fed Cup finals later this year.

Photo: 

Image: © Nevit Dilmen found at Wikimedia commons
Leave a comment

Filed under News

Leave a Reply

